Music odyssey

A miserable day here with the rain pouring down so gave me a chance to finish my drawings and listen to some good songs.

I have well over 2000 albums, and counting, on vinyl, cd and digital download and the vinyl and cd are taking up a lot of storage.  I mainly play my music via my iTunes system around the house, on my pod or in the car.  So I’ve been planning to relieve myself of this music at a time when people seem to be acquiring more vinyl than ever before, and run my entire collection on my 2T Time Capsule.

Then it got me thinking about the format we listen to our music in.  I always rip my discs to Apple Lossless, retaining all that depth of sound in a smaller storage format.  But there is a generation of kids out there who have never heard music in this format, usually relying on 256 or 320kps, or heavens forbid lower than this.  Am I just a musical snob or does it not matter. I believe there is a marked difference in listening to songs in a compressed wav lossless format like FLAC or ALAC and the traditional mp3 or AAC streams.  So that’s my two-penneth worth!!!!

So I made a start today with the ripping and getting ready to sell my treasure on ebay.

My first album is the fantastic Anthology of American Folk Music edited by Harry Smith, all four volumes released in 1952 from recording made between 1929-1933, Country, Folk and Blues.

Here’s a taster with the very first song from Dick Justice.

 

Whilst commencing my odyssey I saw the news regarding Philip Pullman’s new epic fantasy trilogy ‘The Book of Dust’ due for release in October this year.

I have fond memories of reading His Dark Materials so will be keen to read this new tale, maybe as one of my 26 book challenge. Lyra, the brave and outspoken heroine, will return in the first two volumes. Featuring two periods of her life – as a baby and 10 years after His Dark Materials ended, so it sounds like a very good read already………. can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

